Rod Stewart: Time Review

, , Leave a comment


His hair hasn’t change. His voice is still rock solid. And he’s spent four decades being a rock star, three being a parent, and now has a new album with a history of stories to tell.  Rod Stewart’s Time is a reflection of rock, soul and his life.  The 68 year old rock musician hasn’t sounded this engaged with his own music in a very long time. And speaking of Time…

Rod Stewart returns to his song-writing roots with his new album Time, just released May 7th.  The album features 12 tracks, 11 of which he wrote and produced himself.  The music was born from a reflection Stewart took while reviewing his life after writing his recent memoir and it shows in his music.


I love this album. The wife calls me the “Music King” because for some reason, despite my brain injury, music always has and will continue to be an inspiration for me and helps me remember some things.  Love rekindled, love broken, divorce, heartache, parenting, being a father — all amazing narratives are showcased in Time.  Acoustic guitars, wonderful beats, Time is a great album by Rod Stewart and one worth buying!  The guy can still groove. Not to mention he looks darn good for his age, still rocking it out.

“Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head,” he says. “Next thing I knew, I had a song called ‘It’s Over’ about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn’t done, and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record.”

Some of my favorite songs on the Album include:  She Makes Me Happy, It’s Over, Time, Beautiful Morning and Pure Love — Lyrics like “Take your time to embrace romance. Teach your children how to sing and dance. Love may hurt but it’s worth the chance. I’ll be right by your side…”

Time Track Listing:

1. She Makes Me Happy
2. Can’t Stop Me Now
3. It’s Over
4. Brighton Beach
5. Beautiful Morning
6. Live The Life
7. Finest Woman
8. Time
9. Picture In A Frame
10. Sexual Religion
11. Make Love To Me Tonight
12. Pure Love

Stewart is getting ready to embark on the European leg of his Live the Life tour on June 1st, coiciding with the release of his new album. American dates with Steve Winwood will kick off October 17th, and I hope he comes to Vancouver. I’d love to go and see him.

More About Time & Rod Stewart

Buy on Amazon   Buy on iTunes   Rod Stewart Twitter